Hello world! Baby Step #1

This is my very first post on my new blog! Let me start by saying that my name is Candice,  I am a recent college graduate who has started to be introspective lately about how we impact the planet, and steps that I can take in my own life to minimize my own harmful impact. It is going to be a long journey, which will be taken in baby steps because a huge overhaul is not very realistic. I will continue to update this blog as I go along and every time I make a new baby step to make my life greener. My goal is to eventually produce as little waste as humanly possible, and to find green alternatives to the things that are a part of my life. 1380363_10151670757481725_1714029694_nOur planet is a beautiful place naturally, and I am going to do my best to help keep it beautiful for the generations to come….. so….

Baby Step #1

Toothpaste 🙂 It is something that we use everyday, and most of the time it comes in a plastic tube that doesn’t get recycled, it just ends up in the trash. I currently live with 3 other people, and as a result we end up using a lot of toothpaste. The solution is to make your own toothpaste, and it is relatively easy since the ingredients can be found in your pantry most of the time. I found quite a few recipes online for both toothpaste and powder. This happened to be the one that I liked the best.WIN_20150509_124738 It is simply a few teaspoons of both coconut oil and baking soda, with ten or so drops of peppermint oil mixed in.  The peppermint oil makes it smell good and taste better 😉 I tried doing the powder mix but it just felt really weird on my teeth, so I use the paste. I’m keeping it in an old glass spice jar that I took the plastic shaker thing off of, that way when I run out I can just refill the glass jar. No more toothpaste tubes in my trash!

I’m feeling better about the planet already, stay tuned for baby step #2!

12 thoughts on “Hello world! Baby Step #1

    1. Yes, I get my toothbrush wet first, then just dip it straight into the jar. The coconut oil has antibacterial properties so it is fine to dip into it even if you are sharing the toothpaste with other family members. 🙂

      Like

  1. Maybe I’m overthinking this, but I’ve been trying to figure out for three days (internet searching while my baby takes a nap) on how to make or buy my own toothpaste safely and not buy plastic. I have the ingredients you mentioned except the peppermint oil.. that’s where I’m stuck.

    Did you find peppermint oil that doesn’t have a plastic lid? I’m also having a hard time finding information on if peppermint oil is okay to use for toothpaste while pregnant or nursing. I read it wasn’t safe during pregnancy, and decreases your milk supply when nursing. So, then that got me all apprehensive. Let’s just say I shouldn’t use peppermint oil, what other oils could safely take the place.. and like the issue stated before, where you can buy them without a plastic lid?

    Like

    1. I actually bought the peppermint oil before I started my zero-waste journey, so it is in a glass bottle but it does have a plastic lid. I am not sure about if there are any effects when you are pregnant, so I personally cannot answer that question. But I do know that half of the time I forget to put the peppermint oil into the toothpaste anyways, and it works the exact same as it would with the oil (The oil only gives it a minty smell), so you could always just make the toothpaste with coconut oil and baking soda 🙂 I’m just using up my essential oils and once they are gone I won’t buy any more, but I do grow peppermint and spearmint in my garden, so perhaps I could figure out a way to use those instead.

      Like

  2. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    upp what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughlly enoying youjr blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have aany tips for beginner bkog writers? I’d definitely appreciate
    it.

    Like

    1. I’d say when you start off the most important thing is to blog consistently and figure out your niche of what you like blogging about. Once you have a few months under your belt try looking for bloggers doing similar posts and connect with them. That’s about it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

