Baby Step #2- Reducing

I finally went and got a book from the library that I have been anxious to read today. I got Zero Waste Home by Bea Johnson and started reading it by lunch time ๐Ÿ™‚ I got through the first 15 pages before the inspiration to act hit me. Zero Waste Home jacketShe talked about how one of the first steps to reducing your waste is to really see what you have to begin with. I immediately thought of how many accessories I have been holding onto for the past decade or so…you all know, those hair-bands and colorful clips that we all wore in elementary school, along with any crazy jewelry we have kept even though it is cheap junk that we never wear anyway. So I put a bookmark in the book and headed for my jewelry box, turns out I have been keeping a ridiculous amount of jewelry that I don’t need or use anymore. I made two piles, one of things to keep, and another to donate.

Before I knew it, a couple of hours had past and I had accumulated 2 boxes and 3 plastic bags worth of things to donate. Amongst the donations were books, hair thingies, old barbies and stuffed animals, jewelry, and those random small bottles of perfume that you get at Victoria’s Secret for free with your purchase occasionally. ( I never wear perfume anyway, so I will probably gift them to someone who does)

There areย  few things that I kept that I could have donated as well, but I am taking small steps, and when you are reducing it will probably take few times before you can really let go of everything you need to. Being green isn’t just a way of living or just recycling all the time, it is a mindset. It is making small choices each day that reduce your impact on the planet. It is remembering to take your reusable bags to the store each time, choosing to use a dish more than once to reduce your water when washing, realizing your choices when shopping and choosing ones with less packaging or no packaging….and the list goes on.

One step at a time ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Baby Step #2- Reducing

Leave a Reply

