Gardening :)

We have a garden in our backyard, and the things we grow mostly vary from year to year. A few of the things that remain constant though are my peppermint, spearmint, chives,and leaf lettuce…..mostly because they come back year after year and are low maintenance, which is great for a lazy gardener like myself 😉

WIN_20150610_120329This is a picture of our garden from earlier this year. I have since made my own compost bin (which I will make a separate post on soon), and added some flowers. What I love about gardens is that they are a great compliment to going zero-waste….I never have produce stickers to worry about 🙂

I always have an herb garden, because herbs are always in some ridiculous packaging no matter where you buy them. This way I get them as fresh as humanly possible, and I can just pick as much as I need.

WIN_20150610_120316

Recently I found a weird plant growing by our fence…it smelled like mint and my cats went nuts over it. I googled it and it turns out that I have fresh wild catnip growing in the backyard lol I put some fresh leaves in our stuffed cat toys every few days.

The mints have completely taken over the herb part of my garden and I have no idea what to do with it all…..anyone have some mint recipes to share?

Leave a Reply

