Junk Mail Rant

I find it completely ridiculous that I can stop garbage from entering my home when I go shopping, but it is almost impossible to stop it from arriving in the mailbox everyday. I have gone onto dmachoice.org and unsubscribed from a bunch of catalogs, as well as all of those credit card offers everyone gets in the mail….and so far that has cut down my mail by quite a bit. But it is those random flyers of junk mail that are nearly impossible to get rid of because they are classified as “bulk mail”. So the mailman won’t take them back, and the stop mail form will not apply to them because they are addressed to “resident” and not a particular person.

Seriously, I am not going to sign up for a toddler swimming class, buy fireworks, or go shopping with the million and one coupons that arrive in the mail. I literally take the junk and put it straight into the recycling bin….. such a waste of resources to make them and carry them to my mailbox for them only to go into the recycling bin. I have tried just about everything, I even go onto the companies websites to see if they have a contact form so I can email them saying that I do not want to be on their mailing list….but alas most of them do not have that contact form…or they do not answer their emails.

I will say that the DMA website was a great resource though, since I now no longer get credit card or insurance offers in the mail. But I wish there was an option to opt out of junk mail. I would unsubscribe from the local newspaper since I don’t read it…but I live with other people and even though they don’t read it either apparently cancelling it would be “crossing the line” lol They think I’m crazy, I like to think I am helping the planet, maybe the two aren’t mutually exclusive haha

Anyone else have this problem? Solutions?

One thought on “Junk Mail Rant

  1. I know your pain! I am currently in an all-out war with the mail lady at my work. I put a sign saying “no flyers please” in the mailbox which cut down on a lot, but like you, I still get those “bulk mail” flyers and a lot of political nonsense. The only other solution I see is getting a PO Box and taking down the mail box .. which might not be ideal if you live with other people haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

