Baby-Step #14- Shoes, shoes, and more shoes

Alright ladies, it is time to fess up, how many shoes do you actually own?

If you are anything like me, then you probably have a ridiculous amount of shoes, and you probably only wear 2-3 pairs regularly. I had probably 15 pairs of heels before I started the de-cluttering process, and I am 5’11″….so in heels that makes me about 6’2. I don’t wear heels very often for that fact, it can be awkward when you are taller than 85% of the population πŸ™‚

That being said, I had pairs that I haven’t worn since middle school, which was about 10 years ago. Safe to say it was time to let go. I originally had around 30-35 pairs of shoes before my first purge a few months ago. I went back this week and purged again because there were some pairs of shoes that I just knew I was never going to wear again, but was holding onto “just in case”.

That phrase “just in case” drives me crazy, especially when I hear myself say it. That is when I get tough with myself and say to myself “just in case is not a good reason to hold onto ANYTHING, except maybe your first aid kit, let it go!”

WIN_20150710_114542This is a picture of what I have left after this purge. I now have 12 pairs of shoes, which by the end of summer will probably be down to 10. I kept:

1. Winter boots (I live in a colder climate, these babies are unavoidable)

2. Workout shoes

3. Outdoor tennis-shoes for yard work

4. Beige flats

5.Brown flats

6. Black flats

7. High heel boots

8. White flip-flops

9. Gold flip-flops

10. brown heels

11. Gray heels

12. Black heels

I know that this might seem excessive to some, but I am slowly getting there. I have gotten rid of 60% of my shoes already, and by the end of summer the gold flops and the white tennis shoes will be done for. I am also thinking of donating the brown heels because I don’t really wear them.

Safe to say, I have a LOT more closet space now, and a lot less clutter. πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Baby-Step #14- Shoes, shoes, and more shoes

  1. That’s awesome!! You did way better than me in the past. I had 150 pairs of shoes, mostly heels. Though I did wear all of my heels and had some for almost 8 years, I realized there was no need in matching every outfit to just one pair of shoes. I started decluttering about 4 years ago and have slowly been downsizing even more and more. I now only have 11 pairs of heels (I do have to wear them often for meetings) and only 5 pairs of flat shoes (3 flats, 1 sandal for summer and 1 sneaker for outside activities). It feels so good to have less options and I get ready quicker in the morning!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am SOOOOOOOOOO HAPPY YOU SHARED THIS. I have been thinking a lot lately about posting about my journey with purging shoes, and you did such a great job executing it! I tapered my shoe closet from about 50 pairs to about 7 and I couldn’t be happier. I realized that I was spending too much money on crappy flats that didn’t last longer than 6 months and now, I only buy quality footwear that feels comfortable, looks cute, and isnt’ superglued together. I think so many women will be inspired by this post. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

