Baby-step #16- Make-up, or my lack thereof

Ladies, I have a confession to make….

I don’t like make-up.

What? Why? Who doesn’t like make-up?

Me, my lazy self, and I do not enjoy make-up in the slightest.

Not even a little bit.

No, I am not a “tomboy”, but I am not extremely girly either. My journey with make-up started when I was 12 years old and I did a brief stint with modeling. They taught me all about what to apply to your face, how to apply it, and what “needed” to be covered up. Safe to say that for my 12 year old self, all of the steps and products were overwhelming. I also learned very fast that whatever you put on your face, you have to spend an equal time taking off at the end of the day.

I didn’t like make-up for the sheer fact that it took up my time, and it was exhausting trying to remember not to rub my eyes or scratch my nose because the makeup would get messed up. But, even though I hated the stuff, I continued to use it into my teenage years, because it was just something that females do. Besides that fact, I also had a bad case of acne that I tried to hide from the world because I was ashamed of it.

Society sees it as the standard for women to hide their flaws behind layers of concealer, while men just get to walk around bare-faced and that is perfectly okay. I find that to be completely ridiculous, why should I be expected to “put my face on” every morning, and yet men can walk around with scruff and discombobulated eyebrows and nobody bats an eyelash. Other women tell me “You won’t look professional without it” or “what about dark circles and discoloration, you are just going to let everyone see it?”

Yes, I am going to do an experiment with myself. I’m going to go one whole YEAR without putting a stitch of make-up on. If at the end of the year I decide that I still like eye-liner, etc, then I might treat myself to 1 new one, or even make my own. But knowing myself the way I do, I more than likely will decide that I will never use make-up again except for the occasional Halloween.

Aside from the fact that it is a ridiculous societal standard, make-up is also Full of random chemicals and stuff that probably shouldn’t be on my face in the first place. So I am going to give my face one year without chemicals, one year to be free, then I will go from there.

To begin this year-long experiment I am getting rid of the make-up that I have kept, it is quite minimal, but it is time to let it go.

WIN_20150723_103805

10 thoughts on “Baby-step #16- Make-up, or my lack thereof

  1. Amen! I don’t use make-up for the exact same reasons. I just can’t be bothered with it! I did have bad acne myself for a few months and only recently I found I had a few more spots poking around my face, so I decided to use up what little is left of my concealer. But mascara, eyeliner, rouge, foundation, blabla? Who cares! If you do have dark rings under your eyes, most likely it means you lack sleep. Ergo, I’d rather sleep than cover my face in paint. I’m not that much of a weirdo as it sounds and I do like my face with make-up. But I like it just as much WITHOUT and, together with my laziness, that settles the case 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree, I can see wearing make-up on halloween, but the rest of the time it is tedious, and pretty much false advertising. We all look great just the way we are, no cover-up required 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

