What I have gained by getting rid of things…

The title of this post almost seems to contradict itself to the untrained eye. But I am going against the grain and say that getting rid of excessive material possessions can in fact give you a few things…

  1. Time– I can’t stress this one enough…what would you do if you didn’t have to clean out the garage or basement this weekend because it only contains what you need, and everything already has a home? How about if your cleaning time in your house/apartment could be cut by 2/3, so instead of 2 hours, it only takes 30-40 mins? When you have less material goods, you have less to take care of or put away, instant time saver! I now have time to do the things I WANT to do.
  2. ย Energy– Since you won’t spend the weekend cleaning out the garage, you will have energy to play with your kids, finally get started on a work-out routine, or just sit down and read a good book.
  3. Space– both physically and mentally. You won’t have to clear off the entire table to start a project or pay your bills, because that space will already be clear. Can I give a shout out to being able to walk through your place and not tripping over anything!
  4. Freedom– instead of being stuck taking care of your possessions, you will have the freedom to pick up and go to the park or a night out on the town at a moments notice, because everything is already taken care of (except maybe calling a babysitter) ๐Ÿ™‚
  5. Motivation– I paint and sketch when I am in the mood to, but with clutter and no free space I was almost never motivated to pick up a paintbrush, but now I have the time, energy, space, freedom, and motivation to paint any time I want. The piece pictured below is my current work in progress.WIN_20150806_1455256. Life– by getting rid of the excess stuff hanging around, I have gotten my life back. I can live each day to the fullest because everything has a home and nothing ends up out of place that can’t be put back in less than 5 minutes. I have energy, and motivation to get out to the park or to sit in front of my easel and crank out a painting. I can do WHAT I want, WHEN I want.

I would have never imagined that by getting rid of things I could gain so much, but I now have a much fuller and richer life than I would if I still had all of those extraneous possessions. Before, my stuff owned me, now I own it, and it is a beautiful thing ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “What I have gained by getting rid of things…

  1. I have been reducing my clutter for about a year now. I did not want the transition to be jarring. I used to feel connected to my excessive amount of belongings but now I feel trapped. I want to be able to live comfortably in any size space. I want to have items that I use and need and want rather than soooooo much stuff. I am excited to finish purging my unwanted belongings. I am excited how I will feel being blessed with the fact that I must get rid of so many things right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been reducing for about 6 months now, and have gotten through over 90% of my stuff. It still takes maintenance but it definitely is better to do it in smaller stages, because it might not stick and become a routine if done in one huge purge. Now if I have excess stuff it feels claustrophobic and cramped. I love having clear, clean, surfaces and spaces ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

