The life-changing magic of tidying up: marie kondo

WIN_20150815_123114Hi everyone, this week has been really good πŸ™‚ I got called for a job interview, I had enough time to finish my painting, and I finally got to read this book from the library. A lot of you have probably heard of this book. It has been a big thing recently with decluttering videos on youtube, as well as in blogs (google KonMarie method and you will find them all). I have to say that I was skeptical about how much this book could possibly influence anyone to get rid of things, but I have been pleasantly surprised by how well the book is put together.

Less than half way into the book I put it down to put it into practice….she advises to take everything out of where it is stored, and put it on the floor. So for example you would take every article of clothing you own and put it on your living room floor for sorting. Then you pick up each and every item and see if it sparks joy. If it does, it stays, if it doesn’t then it goes. Simple, direct, and to the point, which I appreciate. She also talks about how everyone already has enough storage, you just need to get rid of the excess for it to fit πŸ™‚

For those of you who have been following my blog, by now you know that I have done quite a few purges, and continue to evaluate my things to see if they still meet my needs. Even so, and even though I have brought myself down to an amount of possessions I never thought possible…..I still found more things that do not bring me joy.

I am getting rid of another 2 boxes worth of things today.

I really enjoyed this book, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for extra motivation πŸ™‚ I thought it was very interesting how she says to thank your things for being useful, so when you take your shoes off you would say “thank you for protecting my feet today”, I find that this practice, although seemingly strange, can really put things into perspective, and will really help you be grateful for your possessions and the hard work they do to help you out.

I’m feeling pretty inspired today, how about you?

WIN_20150815_124528

Leave a Reply

