Living with non-Zero-wasters/ minimalists

Hi everyone, today I want to talk about a topic that has been making the rounds lately, and that is what to do when you are going zero-waste and minimalist, but the people you live with are opposed.

DSC03545

As some of you already know, I currently live at home, and share a house with 3 other people….let’s just say that they are not big fans of change. They were quite skeptical when I began changing my own routine, and they are still somewhat skeptical, but now that they see the benefits of my lifestyle, they don’t complain about it as much. There are a bunch of tips and tid-bits that I have learned through this journey at home, so I will try to group them into categories for you:

1. SPACE– This is the biggest tip I can give for others who are living with non zero-wasters/minimalists…..make your own space and maintain it. Do NOT try to worry about or control their space (believe me, I tried, and all I got in return was STRESS). In our home “My Space” consists of; my room, my closet, the top shelf in our linen closet, 2 shelves in a kitchen cupboard, 2 shelves/drawers in the fridge, 2 wicker baskets (for my produce), one small box in the laundry room, and one small corner of the basement for misc. items.

If you do not have kitchen space, negotiate for it. My bathroom routine got so small that I no longer need any drawers or shelf space in the bathroom, I gave it up in return for the cupboard space. It was worth it. In the fridge I simply started by separating my grocery shopping and bills from theirs, then congregated all of my food onto one shelf. I already had the bedroom space and linen closet shelf, so I did not have to negotiate for those. I did negotiate for my compost space in our backyard, I had to make promises that it wouldn’t smell and that it would not be in their way.

Keep your space in order, and leave everybody else’s alone. Believe me, when they see that your space is always clean and organized, they tend to start following suit.  🙂

2. MONEY- If you are not paying the lion’s share of the bills, the best way to show your family/roomates the benefits of zero-waste and minimalism, is to lower your contribution to those bills. This could cover everything from taking shorter showers to lessening your television watching. My showers used to take quite a while, because I had about 20 products for every part of me, and it took forever to use them all. Now I have 3 things, shampoo, soap, and shave stuff. I condensed my showers from 20-25 mins to now about 10, saving on the water bill.

I share a car with the family as well, so I try to plan all of my errands on one day, to save gas. I do my own laundry, buying my own soap nuts, and I buy my own groceries as well. My bills are pretty much separate from theirs, except for the basics of electricity and water. I take care of my own stuff, and lessen my impact on theirs (trust me, they DO notice the water bill!).

3. Show, don’t tell- let your lifestyle speak for itself, do not try to force them into it by talking it to death. Be sneaky, when they see you do it and they see your positive results, they are more likely to be influenced. For example, it took me forever to convince my family to sign up for curbside recycling, and when I finally did I was the only one using it. They saw me faithfully take out my recycling every day to the bin, and eventually they started following along, and they now easily fill half of the bin each week.

The same thing goes for food, they see that I do not purchase packaged food and that I go to the farmers market. Sometimes I invite them to come along, but I never pressure them into anything. It has been 4-5 months since I started, and I now see them making healthier choices when they shop, it is all about baby-steps.

4. Get involved- Be actively involved in their lives, and show them the benefits of your lifestyle in a fun way. Instead of going to the movies, ask them to have a day at the park with you, or make them a delicious zero-waste meal (don’t say it is zero-waste unless they ask), and enjoy it together. I asked my mother to go with me to the health store one week, and now it is our weekly routine for most of our grocery shopping. Make it fun, not a chore 🙂

Now I know there are going to be days when they frustrate you to no end, I go through those days too. Remember that you can only control your own choices, and it does not pay to worry about others. Live your life the way you choose, and be a positive example for others. That is all that you can do, and trust me when I say that it DOES make a difference!

6 thoughts on “Living with non-Zero-wasters/ minimalists

  1. Nice article! There is nothing to add, maybe only to stay positive at all times and don’t let yourself get down by anythig others do and say. It seems you’re on the right path to convert your family. I’m with my boyfriend, so we basically share everything. It’s less clear-cut with us, but I do keep my own space where I want. He goes along with a lot I do, and in return I give him his freedom to buy what he likes and not inpose my habits on him. It works quite well. If you compromise instead of forcing your lifestyle on others, I’ve noticed they are more likely to make a move towards you as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are wonderful recommendations. I really appreciate you making guides like these to help people transition to a multi-person non-zero waste household. It can be very difficult but very rewarding when little successes happen. (My mother has recently stopped putting straws in her drinks–ohmygod!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love these tips! I think I’ve had similar issues trying to help people minimalism, but my approach is somehow off-putting to my friends. I think instead of telling them about it, I am now trying to wait for them to ask me instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great tips! I think it is very true to remember to control your own choices and let others control theirs. My hubby doesn’t really care about the environment. He has absolutely no problem with me avoiding waste and buying free range and fair trade, etc, but he wouldn’t go out of his way to do those things himself. If I hand him a reusable bag as he heads out the door to the shops, he’ll use it. Otherwise, he brings plastic bags home. But that’s ok – it’s his choice. I just make sure to reuse and then recycle the bags 🙂 Sometimes I even convince hubby to take the bags back to the shops for recycling! (again, if I hand them to him on his way out). Oh and my gosh was it a battle to get a little bin for compost to live in the kitchen! But it’s there to stay now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great tips! It’s been really hard trying to stay true to this lifestyle while living with my non-zero waste family. Although I may non be completely zero waste since I’m not in total control of my life being 16 and all, I’m getting there slowly but surely! Love your blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

