Baby-Step #23- Zero Waste Shaving

I did a post a few months ago about Waxing V. Sugaring, and now I am going to talk about an alternative to disposable razors. I know that people usually prefer one or the other, waxing or shaving, so I think it is important to have alternatives for both.

Aviary Photo_130857920348945688

I finally got my safety razor shipped to me a few weeks ago, and it works like a charm! It has only one blade, which makes it really easy to clean, and it is completely made out of stainless steel. It is a good quality piece that hopefully will last me a lifetime, the only thing I will need to continue purchasing is new blades when the old ones wear out. When the old blades wear out, they are recyclable since they are only made out of one material.

I will no longer be buying plastic “disposable” razors!

Using the safety razor can be a bit different than a disposable, I find that it is best to hold the razor lightly and use very light strokes when shaving. I have been using it for a few weeks now, and have not gotten cut or razor burn even once! There is no need to smack the razor against the walls of the shower either, it rinses clean very easily.

To go along with my new safety razor, I bought a bar of shaving soap (sans plastic packaging). So now my shaving routine has had a complete zero-waste makeover. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Baby-Step #23- Zero Waste Shaving

    1. Haha, I had that thought too when I first got it. I was almost scared to use it 🙂 It takes a few tries to get the hang of how much pressure to use with it, but to answer your question, yes it can be used everywhere. I of course did test runs on my legs and such before moving elsewhere, but it works perfectly, and I haven’t gotten razor burn yet!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

