Zero-Waste on the go checklist

I don’t know about you guys, but I had the hardest time when I started Zero-wasting….I always forgot to bring things with me when I went out, which led to the purchase of wasteful items. I have since learned that the best way to go about it is to have either a checklist or a bag that already has everything you will need when leaving the house.

For me, depending on where I am going, I might need to bring a variety of things….for example, if I am going shopping I will have to bring a few reusable bags with me, along with my glass water-bottle for drinking in the car. Where it would be different if I was going to the park, I might also need a snack, a book, etc.

What I have found to be helpful, especially since I am a forgetful person on occasion, is that I have a reusable tote bag in my closet, that always contains a few zero-waste must-haves for when I go out, I also have a mental checklist that I run through to figure out what I might need that day.

Basic Checklist:

  1. Reusable bag(s)…..for shopping, carrying my stuff, etc.
  2. Water-bottle…..I hate feeling thirsty when shopping or running errands, so to avoid purchasing a drink, I always have my water-bottle with me.
  3. Snack….with my food intolerances it is difficult to get something to eat while I am out, and most of the options are pretty wasteful anyways, so I always have a small mason jar with a snack in it to munch on wherever I go πŸ™‚
  4. Hankies…..I am so grateful for these during flu-season. I keep a clean one in my wallet, and another in my car.
  5. Bamboo/regular Cutlery…especially if I plan on babysitting or going to the park, it keeps me from using disposables.

Now of course, there will always be occasions where more might be needed, but this is my basic on-the-go checklist for everyday outings.

Is there anything you would add to the list? πŸ™‚

DSC03218

4 thoughts on “Zero-Waste on the go checklist

  1. Nice list! I’m the same, I keep forgetting just that one item I actually needed, mostly hankies and cutlery! A container would also be good, I found they can be handy in the strangest situations. And, for some, a reusable coffee-mug.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

