Minimalism, Zero-Waste and birthdays

Cool-Happy-Birthday-HD-WallpaperHey guys, I am pretty excited because my birthday is Monday, I’m turning 23. This will be the first birthday I am celebrating as a minimalist/aspiring zero-waster.

I’m trying to find the best balance between sticking to my zero-waste and minimalist values, but also cutting loose and just having some fun. Let’s face it, you only get one life….so why not enjoy it?

On top of the minimalist/zero-waster in me I also have to deal with a Paleo diet, and finding some sort of food that I can have as my “treat” for my birthday. Birthdays have been kind of weird since my switch to a Paleo diet, because I can’t have the traditional cake and ice cream/cookies/donuts/etc that would normally be the main attraction. Most of the time I end up having my food and the rest of my family eats their normal food and treats, and they still make me blow out candles on a cake that they are going to eat, not me.

This year is going to be a bit different, because I finally am finding more paleo foods in the grocery store. I found a paleo-ish frozen pizza that I can eat, as well as pasta made from almond flour (I got it for free because they had a coupon! Hooray for free pasta!) I also am having coconut milk ice cream. None of these items are completely Zero-waste, but it is my birthday, sooo I am letting myself have it anyway πŸ™‚

For the minimalist in me, I am keeping things pretty low key this year. Dinner with family, maybe a movie…then I am kicking everyone out of the house for a few hours while I enjoy a glass of wine and a new book πŸ™‚

I’m looking forward to it.

For those of you who can actually eat grains and such, I have a few ideas to keep your birthday waste to a minimum, and satisfy your minimalist side:

  1. Make your own cake/treats, less waste and they taste waaayyy better!
  2. Resist the urge to purchase disposable dishes and cutlery, it doesn’t take that long to wash real dishes or load up the dish washer.
  3. Gifts- ask for money or giftcards or just having their presence…I don’t need any more random trinkets in my home.
  4. Nix the party favors, or opt for edible ones instead.
  5. For those of you over the age of 21, grab a few friends and just have a night in, wine, girl talk, netflix binging, the works πŸ™‚
  6. Or if you are more of an extrovert, take #5 and instead of staying in, go out on the town.

Experiences instead of stuff birthday ideas:

  1. Girl’s night in/out
  2. Go to a concert
  3. Check out a museum
  4. Movies
  5. Go dancing
  6. Take a class (cooking, dancing, etc.)
  7. Go out to the park/beach/nature
  8. Or if you need to de-stress, sleep in and stay in your pj’s all day πŸ™‚
Leave a Reply

