Zero-Waste/Minimalist Hair care

This past week has been busy busy busy ๐Ÿ™‚

I decided to try out a new hair routine, and I have to say that I am loving it. I was using shampoo bars before and they worked well, but the texture of my hair was kind of off, and I had to wash every day. Now I have switched to the no-poo method.

For those of you who haven’t heard of this method, it is really simple. For shampoo I mix a small amount of baking soda with a cup or two of water, scrub my head and rinse. Then as a clarifying rinse/conditioner I mix a bit of apple cider vinegar with water and rinse through my hair.

From what I had researched about the method I expected it to take a while for my hair to transition to the new method, but surprisingly it only took a few days before my hair transitioned beautifully.

My hair feels great and I can go a few days without washing it, and it doesn’t smell or get greasy like it used to. (I always wash on days I work-out though, so I end up washing probably 3-4 times a week right now.)

The best part of this method is that it reuses things that I already keep in my pantry, making my shopping list shorter. It is also extremely gentle on my hair as well as the environment. The baking soda can be bought in bulk, and the apple cider vinegar I buy comes in a glass jar (I haven’t found it in bulk yet).

My bathroom routine is now completely made over from what it was a year ago. I used to have tons of plastic product bottles in my closet and shower….now it only has baking soda, ACV, a shaving bar, bar of soap, safety razor, home-made toothpaste, bamboo toothbrush, oils for my face, and my bamboo hairbrush.

WIN_20151021_124008WIN_20151021_124026

For those of you who haven’t tried out the no-poo method, I would definitely recommend it. It may take a week or two to transition, but after that it is ridiculously easy ๐Ÿ™‚

What other methods have you used for your hair?

14 thoughts on “Zero-Waste/Minimalist Hair care

  1. I just found your blog and I am loving it! I recently started no-poo as well. I use only warm water though. I wanted to try nothing at all before I tried baking soda and so far I really like it! The trick I think is to section your hair as you wash it to really let the warm water get at the roots. Brushig is also an essential part of the routine I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have blogged about DIY homemade shampoo and conditioner but really I haven’t tried myself, although in order to avoid plastic, I’m now using Lush bar shampoo and is working well so farโ€ฆ the package they use is paper, plus is animal free test and no plastic bottle left. At the moment I’m happy but I’m willing to do a no-poo test, maybe works even better!
    ๐Ÿ’š

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I use lush shampoo bar as well. but not for long. because iยดll try the water method :P.. as bridging i use Lemon for my hairline to get the fat out. iยดm convinced it will work with time. my hair will love me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

