There is no such thing as a “Perfect” Zero-waster or Minimalist

Hi everyone!

This week I wanted to talk about something that has struck a chord with me lately. That is, when how if people know you are attempting Zero-Waste or Minimalist goals, they think it is okay to call you out on the one thing you do that doesn’t line up with those goals.

Why are people so judgmental about my trying to save the planet?

It isn’t like I go around pointing out every sin I see a religious person commit. So why is it acceptable for people to make comments like “Wow, you have way to many things to be a real minimalist.” or “If you are zero-waste, you shouldn’t be buying tuna in a can.”

Yeesh.

There is no such thing as a “Perfect” zero-waster (Except perhaps Bea Johnson, that girl has got her shit together 🙂 ). There is no such thing as a “Perfect” minimalist. Or a perfect Christian, or a perfect vacuum cleaner, or a perfect pet.

Do I occasionally indulge and buy something that comes in a package?….yes.

Do I occasionally splurge and buy a new book?….yes.

Am I going to limit myself to only 100 items or never throwing anything away….no. For me right now, that isn’t realistic. And if there is one thing I definitely am, it is a realist. I don’t sugar coat it. I don’t make excuses. I tell it like it is 🙂

So, yes I do buy bags of chips when I get a really bad craving for them. Yes, I own quite a bit more than 100 things.

But compared to where I was a year ago…I have come leaps and bounds. I have less than 1/4 of what I started out with.

I haven’t figured everything out yet.

I might never get to 100% zero-waste.

But it is my goal.

Every drop raises the ocean.

dandelion-meadow

11 thoughts on “There is no such thing as a “Perfect” Zero-waster or Minimalist

  1. Love this. One thing I don’t think I’ll be able to shake are comic books. It’s my sweetheart and mine’s major way to bond, and that joy is definitely worth the miniscule impact in my opinion!

    Everything else I try to do digital, but we can’t be too hard on ourselves 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh! Like you rad my mind. I have been venting to my husband about this for ages & been mulling over a blog post. I actually unfollowed a zero waste group because I got so sick of everyone jumping on each other with don’t eat meat, don’t drink milk, don’t shop there. Exhausting. Like you say, nobody is perfect and we all just need to do what we can. I sometimes feel like if I would tick all the boxes everybody says we should, I wouldn’t survive or be happy! I will still drive a 4×4, eat packaged things because sometimes it is impossible to find unpackaged, water my garden, the list goes on. The reality is, we live in an imperfect world, and we are imperfect people. We all just need to do our best and respect that each others “bests” are different. Be the change, don’t preach the change, in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The point is if everybody tried to make this world a better place and save.

    I carry a water bottle with me and I maybe hungry but I try my best to carry something with me until I get home. We can try and that is all that we can all do. It also saves you money and in today economy , we must plan for old our old age. It would help if the companies would change their method of packaging.

    Like

Leave a Reply

