Composting like a boss

Hey guys,

This summer I decided that I wanted to try out my hand at composting, I figured that if I composted I could divert a lot of my family’s waste from ending up in the landfill. There was only one problem…

Pre-made compost bins are freaking expensive.

Even the ones with worms in them are above my budget range.

Sooo being the inventive person I am I decided that I was going to DIY it. A.K.A. winging it.

I wanted something easy, low maintenance, and just plain simple. Something that could easily fit into our garden, and that would work relatively quickly to break things down.

I did a little research and found out that the best way for things to break down would be to let bugs have access to it.

That’s right. BUGS. Creepy crawly things. Yuck.

I’m not a big fan of bugs in general. Especially when I can see them, so a big concern for me with the compost was how to make one where I wouldn’t have to come into contact with them.

I’m not one of those girls that shrieks when I see a spider in my home. I just sick my cat on it and voila, the bug is gone. He eats them, which is gross, but I don’t have to squish any bugs, so it is a win-win situation.

Anywho, back to the compost. I went out into the garage to see what sort of materials I had to work with. I had my options open, there was wood, metal, etc. All of those involved actually building something though. I wanted it to be easy.

Off in the corner I found an old garbage can that we hadn’t used in ages. It’s a dark green color, so I figured if I could outfit it, it would blend in perfectly with the scenery…sort of 🙂WIN_20151204_145217

I dragged it out of the corner so I could get a good look at it. It was sturdy, a bit ugly, but it would work.

Taking an electric drill I got to work, I drilled about 50 holes in the bottom of the can and about 1/3 of the way up the sides. It was pretty funny, I was on the back porch, straddling a garbage can, and using this enormous drill to murder the poor thing. Safe to say I got some weird looks from the neighbors that day.

After making the holes, I turned it right side up and made my way out to the garden. I picked out the spot where I wanted to put it, and dug a hole that was big enough and deep enough to cover up the holes. Then I put the can in the hole, and packed the dirt in around it.

DIY compost bin. WIN_20151204_145229 (2)

Its the green thing in the middle. Everything looks kind of dead since it is the middle of winter. it blended in during the summer when all the plants were up covering it.

My compost bin also has a locking lid to keep the small critters out.

I have been dumping kitchen scraps into the bin for about four months now and it is still only about halfway full.

The holes keep the pile airated, and they also let the bugs in and out. (I made sure the holes were big enough to let worms through)

I absolutely love the simplicity of my bin. It doesn’t need to be tended or rotated. I just let nature do all the work for me. The best part is that the worms and bugs eat everything, and all the work I will have to do is scoop some of the stuff out of the bottom to feed the rest of my garden.

Now, if you aren’t a fan of DIY then you can always go and buy your own compost bin, they have a variety of different types from ones that use a crank to turn them, to worm bins.

Either way compost bins serve double duty, they keep food scraps out of the landfill, and they make free fertilizer that you can use to feed your flowers or garden.

Have you tried composting? What is your favorite way to do it?

 

16 thoughts on “Composting like a boss

  1. This is a great idea and I really wish I had a garden!! 😦 I’m currently trying to find indoor-solutions that are cheap and worm-free. But no bugs = no decomposition. More research is needed on this topic…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hmmm, I’ve heard that some people use pots that they would have used for plants to compost, they just put the compost in and cover each layer up with some dirt. I’m not sure how well it would work indoors, but it might work on a patio or in a windowsill box perhaps. 🙂 Good luck finding a solution!

      Like

  2. I love compost, and run a compost education program for local schools and other children’s programs. It’s fun! A few learning curves. My biggest challenge is educating adults on the misconceptions of composting. Good tips here! I was drawn to this post because one of my first ZW blog posts was entitled: Step 1: compost like a boss. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Excellent work! I have a store bought, black composter that works the same way. I love it. One thing I would recommend as additional tool (and you can totally invent something that does the same work) is the yard butler. http://gruenish.com/2015/07/20/earth-master-yard-butler/
    It will make the composter much faster and it’s super easy to use to mix the already composted stuff with the new stuff. I don’t to it every time I put in new food scraps but every now and then. I find that the compost is ready incredible fast. Can’t wait for spring and to finally use the first homemade compost for my plants.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When I go out there to fill it, it doesn’t smell or anything, and so far no animals have gotten into it. I don’t think it would be any different if it was closer to the house, I just stuck it in the garden since that is where I will be using the compost once it decomposes 🙂

      Like

  4. I have an old trash can just sitting outside, I don’t think it has a lid but I am sure I can come up with something. I am thinking the next nice (read snow free, above freezing) weekend I might go out and see what I can make of it! Thanks for the idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

