A special Thanks

I am aspiring to have a minimalist and Zero-waste lifestyle.

But I wasn’t always this way.

A couple of years ago if someone has told me that I would give up buying potato chips because the bags aren’t eco-friendly, I would have laughed right in their face.

If I could have seen a snippet of how I am living now, back then I would have thought that I had gone over the ben. Cuckoo for cocoa puffs. Absolutely bonkers.

And perhaps I have a bit.

It all started back in college. There was this professor, you see.

One who I thought at the time was slightly off her rocker (but now I am rather thankful for)

She did things like make us dance to “Happy” in class, and do social experiments where we had to carry water in and out of the classroom in jugs to fill up other jugs. It was all rather strange at the time…and I know that I truly didn’t “get” most of what she was going on about.

Then she showed us the video about “the story of stuff”.

That’s when I started paying attention.

She followed that up with videos on the pacific gyre, the destruction that palm oil is causing, and images of what other children have around the world. The plight of bees, and how a lot of our waste is ending up in other countries, and devastating environments.

You know, back then I didn’t even know that organic produce here in the U.S. has a produce sticker that starts with a number 9…that is until she casually mentioned it in class one day. Afterwards everyone who had a piece of produce immediately checked the sticker to see if what they were consuming had pesticides.

At that point I had already made the switch to a glass waterbottle, mainly because I was cheap and didn’t want to have to pay for a plastic water bottle whenever I was thirsty. I also had started to bring a reusable bag to stores, but that was about it.

Towards the end of the semester we had to do a presentation on any issue we could find. Sitting through those presentations was an eye-opener for me.

It would still take another year or so after that class for me to really start making any noticeable changes to my lifestyle.

Then of course, I found Bea Johnsons book “Zero Waste Home”, which prompted me to really put things into practice.

But it all started with an environmentally conscious professor, who opened my eyes when I had them completely shut.

So, Thank you Professor Kraniak, you helped give me the kick in the butt I needed to change my life 🙂

Who inspired you to change your lifestyle, become minimalist or zero-waste? 🙂

5 thoughts on “A special Thanks

  1. I was inspired by a vacation my family and I took. It was a road trip so we were limited to what we could fit in our car. Well, with a car that holds five people, with a family of five, we only had the trunk to hold our things. It was INCREDIBLE to me that we happily lived on so little for the time we were away from home. We needed so little in the way of “stuff” and it totally opened my eyes to how much surplus we had, and how much undue stress it caused. I became a minimalist largely due to that road trip, and I am so thankful. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Isn’t amazing how one person can change so much about our daily habits? I feel the same way about Bea Johnson from Zero Waste Home, as well as Colleen from No Trash Project. So good to read this–thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

