Home-made Condiments :)

Hi everyone, I hope you’re enjoying the New Year. I wanted to update you guys on my resolutions, as well as a few other challenges I have been a part of. I also wanted to show you the Condiments that I made today in less than 15mins.

First off, I’m coming up on my six month mark of being make-up free….and I really am not missing make-up as much as I thought I would. Actually, it is much easier to get ready in the morning without it…although I do sometimes wish that I had a bit of eye-liner, I figure once July roles around that I might try my hand at making my own make-up (mostly just eye liner and maybe a bit of powder). But all is going well on that front.

Secondly, is my resolutions….have you stuck with yours? I mostly have. I am just a few days away from being completely finished with my editing of my novel. I also have been following the no-spend 2016 challenge…except for $2, I spent it on a lotto ticket. Feeling kinda guilty, but it just doubles my resolve to keep denying myself and sticking to my minimalist budget.

Besides that, I finally switched my banking to sending me emailed statements instead of paper, reducing my paper clutter 🙂 I also wanted to spend more time in nature…but given the fact that it is only 17 degrees out, that isn’t going to happen until it warms up a bit lol.

The last one, which is what I started today…was to start making more things at home. Zero-wasting by using what I already have, and minimizing the things I need to buy.

Sooo…

I tried my hand out at making my own condiments today, and it turned out pretty well. WIN_20160111_142711From left to right we have barbeque sauce, mayonnaise, and a balsamic vinaigrette. The vinaigrette was the easiest, this jar has 3 lines on it that say V, W, O. Pretty much measuring out the vinegar, water, and oil that makes up the salad dressing. I already had the balsamic vinegar and the oil, so I was using ip what I already had, without having to buy a new bottle of salad dressing.
The mayonnaise was a bit trickier, the first batch turned out badly so I nixed the lemon and just used egg yolks, vinegar, Dijon mustard, and oil. I had all of them on hand already 🙂 It’s pretty yummy and less than half the cost of what I would pay for the same amount at the store…win-win!

Barbeque sauce…I’m still playing around with the recipe for this one, but each batch turns out pretty good. Basically it’s tomato paste, apple cider vinegar, sugar, honey, and some cornstarch and water to thicken it up.

So, all in all it was a successful experiment, and now I won’t have to buy condiments anymore. (for those of you who are wondering, I don’t really use ketchup which is why I didn’t make any)

I also had some extra time so I squeezed some fresh OJ…

WIN_20160111_144625Next stop…home-made Apple cider vinegar!

8 thoughts on “Home-made Condiments :)

    1. For the mayo I used 2 egg yolks, 1 teaspoon of dijon mustard, and 2 tablespoons of vinegar (add more or less depending on how much tang you want). Whipped that up with the food processor then added a cup of vegetable or canola oil…I happened to have vegetable on hand at the time so I used that. The key is to add the oil very slowly so the mix will thicken up while it whips 🙂

      Like

    1. It can be kinda tricky, I have made it twice now and each time I had to scrap the first batch because I didn’t put the oil in slowly enough so it didn’t come together properly. The trick is to be really slow with the oil 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

