Review of Rob Greenfield’s book: Dude making a difference

Hi guys, I normally do not post book reviews, but recently I was able to read the book Dude making a difference by Rob Greenfield.

This book is a journal-like account of Rob’s trip on bike across the United States from California to Vermont. This type of journey account isn’t something that would normally excite me, except for the fact that he attempted to be as close to Zero-Waste as humanly possible on his hundred day trip.

He went so far as to avoid electricity (except for a solar panel he used for his laptop), water from faucets, and food with packaging. He even went dumpster diving behind grocery stores 🙂 Now, it was an extreme experiment, and I don’t think I would ever be able to complete that sort of journey myself…but I did enjoy how he pointed out small ways that you can reduce your own waste at home.

My favorite quote from the book is “I learned that by living simply I can live free. The less complicated I make my life, the more time I have to do what I love and what’s good for me.”

Amen to that Rob!

So if you are in the mood for vicariously living an adventure across the U.S. waste-free I would recommend that you check his book out. It’s a very easy read that will make you look at life a little differently. P.s. it says right on his website that all of the proceeds from the book are donated to 1% for the Planet nonprofits!

Check out his website too at www.RobGreenfield.tv/dude

Have you read the book, if so what did you think of it? Let me know in the comments 🙂

 

One thought on “Review of Rob Greenfield’s book: Dude making a difference

Leave a Reply

