To vegan or not to vegan?

I’m just going to cut to the chase…I’m thinking about going vegan.

WIN_20150609_173702

Even six months ago, had someone even told me that I would consider it I probably would have laughed until my stomach hurt. The fact of the matter is that I do ENJOY meat.

Chicken, burgers, steak, sausage…I used to devour it all. But here I am contemplating the benefits of veganism. I started cutting down my meat consumption a few months ago simply because it is expensive to buy grass fed meats in minimal packaging. Then for some reason about two months ago the smell of red meat started turning my stomach…it literally makes me nauseous. Sooo, I cut back and ate more fish instead, but fish gets incredibly boring, and again is more expensive than organic fruits and vegetables.

I WANT to try going vegan (I already do not eat dairy products because of lactose intolerance, and I’m not such a fan of eggs anyway), but I’m slightly worried that I won’t be able to consume enough calories during the day.

Let me explain, I am 5’10” and on the skinny side of the scale. I don’t consume grains either because of intolerance (my stomach cramps for days if I eat them)…so if I go vegan my diet will only consist of fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, healthy oils and vinegars.

That’s incredibly limiting. And I really don’t want to lose any weight.

WIN_20150609_173707

But I think I’m going to try it, at least for a few weeks to see how my body responds to it.

My reasons for trying/perhaps adopting veganism are:

  1. Budget, let’s face it…meat and fish are expensive, especially when you will only buy grass fed/wild caught through sustainable means.
  2. I’m already halfway there anyway, so why not go all the way?
  3. The way animals are treated before they get slaughtered is not something that you can be entirely sure of, unless you raise them yourself.
  4. Meat production produces a ton of carbon/methane emissions, and in general isn’t the healthiest thing for the planet.
  5. And lastly I’m curious if I can actually adopt the lifestyle and be content with my meals.

My rules for the next few weeks are…No meat or fish. No eggs. No dairy. The only animal product I am allowing myself is honey, because I already don’t consume very much sugar and honey is amazing. πŸ™‚

Have you tried a vegan diet? Do you still enjoy it and live by it? What were your reasons for trying it? Let me know in the comments.

14 thoughts on “To vegan or not to vegan?

  1. I can’t consume grains either because I have celiac disease and in recent years I developed an intolerance to corn, quinoa, rice, etc… but last year I suddenly lost too much weight and was super sick all the time. My doctor told me I had a liver problem (genetic) and had to stop eating meat, fish and cheese. I didn’t eat much meat but I loved dairy, and I could never eat eggs, even as a kid, they made me sick.

    I went vegan before, but ate a ton of grains and felt so tired and sick. This time around I was able to sustain veganism and I have more energy, my skin cleared up, my hair is growing, and I no longer feel tired, sluggish, or sick all the time.

    I eat a lot of good fats- avocados, olive oil, nuts- and tons of vegetables, hemp, coconut milk / yogurt / cheese. I actually gained weight after going vegan this time, and I’m hardly ever hungry. I’m satisfied if I fill up on good fats and stay away from sugary or processed foods.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m on the same path, except I like eggs and I am ok with pasture raised local chicken’s eggs, and it helps me get “easy protein”. That said, I am also struggling with getting too skinny now. I haven’t decided how to approach that “issue” yet. Obviously eating more unhealthy vegan food (read Oreos LOL) is not a great idea (also not zero waste!)… Maybe more healthy fats is key. I’m doing it for health, environment, animal welfare as well. I am trying to be relaxed about it though, I won’t freak out over a meal that is served to me (at like mom’s house) if it has meat, because just like you, I do like it. Some meat-reduction is better than non though! So I’d rather be 90% vegan and rocking it, than pushing so hard that I collapse and give it up. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 4 people

  3. I have been a vegan for about 6 months now, and I love it! I definitely find I am eating more amounts of food, since the foods have lower calories. Also do you have allergies to things like legumes? chickpeas,Beans, maybe even cous cous? You just have to eat a variety, and get lots of green vegetables so you get all your nutrients. But it never gets boring, and isn’t as limited as your might think! you just need to find a few basic recipies that you like. Feel free to email me with questions! hnlarnder@gmail.com

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have recently been dabbling in the vegan lifestyle and found that it is truly easy to switch ( I was a pescetarian ’til August 2015). I think having lot of good fats and protein is key to not losing weight going vegan. You definitely will eat a larger amount than you are used to (due to the lower calorie density of food), but you will feel better for it.

    I have found savoury breakfasts of avocado, chickpeas, mushrooms, spinach and tomatoes and also large smoothies have been better in sustaining my energy and hunger levels than a massive bowl of porridge lately. It’s all about experimentation I think so as you do not get bored of food combinations, as it can seem so limiting at first that you tend to stick to the same meals. Good luck with it all πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I realize all of the impacts that the meat and dairy industry has on the planet, but have decided that I’m going to stick with everything in moderation. Plus I’d say I’m already 80% vegetarian and I don’t use a ton of dairy due to a slight allergy. My reasons for not going all the way include the fact that my fiance will not join me, I enjoy meat and eggs, and I’m a bit of a foodie and don’t want to be limited when eating out or traveling. In the end, I’m more dedicated to eating locally than I am to vegetarian/veganism. Being in the snowy midwest means limited produce for at least 6 months a year, and nuts come with a lot of food miles. I’d rather eat a local steak once a month than drink almond milk from Californian almonds every day. Please keep us updated on your journey πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This is basically what I had planned to say and so much more! I think it is helpful to stay flexible – like you mentioned when eating out or travelling or even go over to someone’s house for dinner, etc. I think it’s good to aim for healthy but not get too caught up with restrictions and rules.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I really like the ideas Ella Woodward has in her book entitled Deliciously Ella. She had a lot of health problems and is much healthier with her vegan lifestyle. I will be trying some of her recipes this week. She is also an advocate of homemade nut butters and almond milk to help sustain energy.

    Like

  7. I became a vegetarian for 8 months and loved it. I eventually gave up due to lack of support from my husband. I still try to avoid meat when I can and only typically eat it at dinner. I also insist on at least one meatless meal per week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

