Getting ready for the garden :)

I can’t believe it is already March! Winter certainly has flown by this year, though this is Michigan….so winter may make a few more appearances before it’s through 🙂

Anyway since today was the first really warm day of the year I decided to go out and get some sun while starting a few things in the garden.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now in the summer it is lush and green, like the picture above. I always get lots of leaf lettuce and herbs out of my garden along with my veggies.

Today I went out and planted a few purple potatoes that have sprouted, as well as a garlic bulb and an onion. The potatoes will sprout into plants and multiply into many potatoes, while the garlic and onion more than likely will go to seed (which I can then save for next year’s garden).

The soil is nice and damp since the snow finally melted so it was easy to dig a couple of holes and plant away…

Then I went on the hunt for a few  cool pictures to share with all of you and guess what I found…peppermint, catnip, and moss! I’m pretty excited. The peppermint is very hearty and lasts from march til November…even in cold weather. The catnip has lasted almost the entire year, except for a month where it was too snowy for it to grow, but it’s back and ready to go. The moss is a new addition to the yard, it wasn’t there last year…but I love how soft and fuzzy it is.

DSC03717DSC03718DSC03720

In another week or two, once the chance of snow really decreases, I’ll probably go out to the garden and flip some of the dirt over to aerate it, and I’ll take some of my finished compost out to fertilize the rest of the seeds and such that I’ll be planting.

I absolutely adore having a garden:

  1. Fresh produce is just minutes from your door.
  2. It gives you a healthier diet, let’s face it…no matter how hard you try, you can’t grow pizza from a plant.
  3. I control exactly how the produce is grown, no pesticides or plastic bag fertilizer, and I collect rainwater in big buckets for the garden.
  4. The veggies taste so Yummy right from the garden!
  5. Half of the time I don’t need to purchase seeds, I just use kitchen scraps…then there are the perennials that come back every year on their own like my leaf lettuce , chives, peppermint, spearmint, catnip, and thyme.
  6. It makes me get out and get some fresh air every day, and besides…getting in touch with nature is the easiest when you are growing your own food.
  7. I can point to my lunch plate and proudly proclaim “I grew that!”
  8. It makes your food bill smaller, saving you money 🙂
  9. It’s both a Minimalist and Zero-Waste helper between my compost and less trips to the grocery store.
  10. Everything you eat out of the garden is extremely healthy for you, chalked full of vitamins and minerals.

“But Candice, what if I don’t have a backyard big enough for a garden like yours?”

Not to worry, you don’t need a huge backyard to make your own produce, you can always cultivate a window box garden or a porch garden with different sized buckets. Some people even have a small indoor garden right in their homes, it’s kind of like having an indoor plant, but you can’t forget to water it lol.

Even if you don’t think you have the room for those, I’ll bet you have a spare cup or jar and a window sill, you can start small with your favorite herb. 🙂

Do any of you garden? If so I would love to hear about your favorite thing to grow in the comments!

One thought on “Getting ready for the garden :)

  1. I don’t have a separate veggie garden. Just plant things where most would put flowers. So I focus on things that won’t look too edible even if they are. Okra was new to me last year and definitely making another appearance. Potatoes and strawberries are always nice. My catnip isn’t showing signs of life which makes me sad. Northern Indiana so should be about in line with you I would think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

