My inventory of stuff.

All right, this is something that I said I would probably never do…like ever. But I finally did it, I wrote down a master inventory list of all of my stuff. Yep, I said it, I catalogued everything I own.

Honestly, it took FOREVER to write the list, and I don’t have a ton of stuff to begin with! Or at least I didn’t think I did. I’ve already done about a dozen purges, each time getting rid of more and more that I don’t really need but was holding onto for the moment of “just in case”.

Forcing myself to sit down and write a master list of what I own really made me take a hard look at each and every item and wonder “Is this item really necessary?”, I mean seriously, after writing so many different items down you get to the point where you would rather donate an item than have to write down anything else haha.

I won’t kill you all with every single detail of my inventory, but I thought I would share a bit of it.

When I started this list I thought I would make the lists organized by room, then I thought better of it and separated it into further categories. The categories are:

  1. Closet/Clothes
  2. Room Accessories
  3. Art supplies
  4. Technology
  5. Furniture
  6. Wardrobe Accessories
  7. Oils, etc. Consumables
  8. Personal items (pads, menstrual cup, razor, etc.)
  9. Items in my Armoire
  10. Items stored in the basement
  11. Desk contents
  12. Kitchen contents (only pots and pans, I didn’t count food at all)

The majority of items I found were smaller items that everyone has such as pens and pencils, miscellaneous desk items, and office supplies.

My biggest numbers were definitely in the Art supplies category…there I had 11 brushes, 43 paints, 5 sponges, 2 sketchbooks, 3 oils, 10 markers, 1 paint thinner, 16 pastels, 9 pencils, 9 erasers…..well, you get the idea. πŸ™‚

I’ve always had a thing for creating paintings and sketches, it is a great creative outlet that is relaxing and in the end you are left with something either beautifully amazing or half-ways decent. My goal with the art supplies is to use the supplies that I have before I purchase anything else. I would eventually like to get to the point where I make my own supplies like paints etc. There was this book once that I browsed through that said you could make a paint brush out of cat whiskers….I have two cats who drop old ones all the time, I should have been saving them all these years!

Anyways, onto the other categories. I’ll spare you the details of my wardrobe since I already did a post on it here. Since that post I have minimized a few more items, but not enough to do an updated post yet. I also have eliminated most of the plastic from my closet. I no longer have the plastic bins, and half of my hangars have been swapped out for wood ones. But I digress…

The smallest categories tended to be those with larger sized items. My furniture category is as follows:

  1. Queen bed frame
  2. Queen mattress and box spring
  3. Armoire
  4. Dresser
  5. Desk
  6. 2 sitting chairs
  7. 2 lamps
  8. 1 desk chair
  9. 1 clothes hamper
  10. 1 chalkboard- it’s quite large and hangs on a wall so I classify it as furniture

That’s it for furniture, but then again I do live with other people, so I am fully prepared that when I live on my own I will probably need a few more items. πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Another category that I have kept rather small is my room accessories/decorations category…

  1. 3 blue glass jars/vases
  2. 1 glass tiger
  3. 1 candle
  4. 1 figurine
  5. 3 ceramic masks
  6. 1 African rain stick

The only thing that is sort of a decoration that isn’t in this category is my paintings, I left them in the art category just to make my life simpler.

For those of you wondering, I’ll throw out a few other numbers of things that most of us own.

DVD’s- I own 14 (I’m thinking about getting rid of a few)

VHS’s- 17…Yes I do still have access to a VCR, I’m a weird person but I still like my VHS’s.

Books- 225….this is still a large amount, but I used to own TWO THOUSAND, so it is quite an improvement. The one thing I have always loved is books.

Sheets- 2 sets, one for winter and one for summer. I also have 1 comforter.

Hair ties- 20

Hair pins- 20

X-mas stuff- 1 small metal tin of my favorite wood/metal ornaments that I display forΒ the month of December and then put them back away. I can use hooks to display them on a wall or a metal jewelry holder to hold them up, I nixed my Christmas tree.

Sentimental items- I have mine confined to a space rather than a number, all of my sentimental items such as photographs or old school accomplishments are in one cardboard file box. That’s it, if it doesn’t fit then I get rid of something…like pictures of old birthday cakes or Christmas trees lol Who needs those?

Those are some of the numbers, which you may or may not consider minimalist. For me it is a far cry from what I used to have, and I continue to reevaluate my items on a weekly basis. What I like to do is keep one box by the front door and as I go about my daily business I can throw an item in there if I come across it and realize that I no longer need it. When the box is full I make a trip to the donation center.

I never thought I would do an inventory like this, but it has been an eye opener.

1. About the number of things I actually own.

2. About how many of those things are one-hit-wonders or made out of plastic (I’ve been phasing out the plastic on my journey to being plastic -free and a Zero-waster).

3. About how much is truly necessary, and how much is just extra fluff. We can survive on very little, but tend to consume to excess. I am now making more mindful purchases that I mull over for a time to really assess if they are a necessity or if they will add value to my life.

Now, considering the fact that this number is changing on a daily/weekly basis I am not currently 100% sure if it is accurate, but I will finally answer your burning question…right now my total number of possessions is somewhere around 900. 225 of which is books lol Another hundred or so are art supplies. So it may seem like a big number, but surprisingly enough it doesn’t take up a huge amount of space. I have 1 regular size room with a closet, and 1 shelf of space in our basement.

Have you done an inventory of your items? If so what did you learn? If not, would you ever consider making one?

DSC03770

If you have any specific questions about numbers of any item, ask them in the comments. I would love to hear from you!

11 thoughts on “My inventory of stuff.

  1. This is interesting. Perhaps I will try it sometime, but maybe not completely since Christmas decorations is more easily summed up as 3 bins instead of listing each cookie cutter and ornament. I was wondering, in doing this was there anything you found that you either forgot you had or didn’t realize you had kept?!?

    Like

    1. I honestly found quite a few things that I had completely forgotten about, like a few small stuffed animals I kept for sentimental reasons. Some of my old artwork I had completely forgotten about as well and am in the process of selecting a few pieces from each stage of my development to keep while gifting the rest. I also found a few really old yearbooks as well πŸ™‚ goes to show that there is always room for improvement.

      Like

  2. Wow! That’s awesome. I’ve been mulling over how to write a post on minimizing and may end up making an inventory now! I’ve also taken to keeping a box in my room for donations- when it fills up I put it in the car (in one of my 20 reusable bags… now down to 9), and it usually doesn’t make it to the donation center for over a month. That way I have plenty of time to wait and see if there is ever a moment where I actually need or miss an item. I’m curious- how many of your 900 items are secondhand? As a zero waster I assume that is also one of your priorities πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. That’s a really great question. Before going zero waste buying secondhand was more of an economical thing, but once I switched over I started checking secondhand stores before purchasing anything new. Now, granted, I still have things that were purchased before the transition…so conservatively I would put second hand items at 35-40% of what I own. I buy my clothes mostly secondhand, as well as kitchen stuff and any decorations/bins that I may need…but there are still quite a few things that I do not purchase secondhand such as socks, undies, shoes (mainly because they never have my size), and a few others. But I would estimate it somewhere around 300-400 are preowned. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Wow! Good for you for making the effort to create an inventory of stuff. I think a lot of folks would find this far too daunting to do (too much stuff). I read an article once about a family who was striving to own only 100 things. I am looking around my office right now and already see so much stuff, even after I have done two clean-outs and a minimalist challenge. I’m a teacher, so what your art supplies are to you, my teacher supplies are to me!

    Like

  4. I DEFINITELY need to do this! I have so much damn stuff it’s driving me up the walls. I have attempted to minimize my stuff before. Every now and then I get a urge to spring clean, start at one corner of our apartment and throw away everything in sight. Then I get so overwhelmed with everything and stop before I’ve made any real progress…

    This will definitely help to bring some order to the chaos on the my quest to minimalism. It’s hard for a hoarder, yo….

    Like

Leave a Reply

