5 Things to do with that old Bamboo toothbrush

Hey everyone, I did a previous post on how I switched out my plastic toothbrushes for bamboo ones…and this is the update.

I absolutely love bamboo toothbrushes, I have tried a few different brands in the past year and find that most work rather well. Most recently I have used both the Brush with Bamboo brand as well as Mother’s Vault.

The thing is, that eventually you are going to have to replace your toothbrush, it is inevitable whether you use a plastic one or a bamboo one. I find that it is usually time to replace my bamboo toothbrush when the bristles start naturally coming out of their little sockets. Once two of the sockets are empty I retire the toothbrush and grab a new one.WIN_20150823_084825

What I have found though, is five different uses for the bamboo toothbrush before it eventually ends up in my compost pile. Now, this list may apply to some and not to others, but for those of you looking for a way to re-purpose your toothbrush and get a new life out of it, here we go….

  1. Take the toothbrush, minus any bristles that have fallen out, and use it as a nail brush. It comes in pretty handy after gardening when my nails are full of dirt. It saves me from having to purchase a separate nail brush, which saves money, and it reuses something I already have, which is satisfyingly Eco-friendly. ๐Ÿ™‚
  2. Once it has expired it’s life as your nail brush it is time for use #2. As a cleaning tool. I use these babies for scrubbing the grout (we have a very old tile shower that has LOTS of grout to be scrubbed). Or cleaning the floor, or just to get into hard to reach places.
  3. Once it has been a toothbrush, a nail brush, and a cleaning brush, then it has a few options. Option 1 is that it can become a marker for your garden. I like to write down the type of plant on the handle of the brush (after trashing the bristles) and then stick it in the dirt as a cute marker.
  4. Option number 2 after you rip the bristles out it can become a craft stick for some sort of art project. This is a great one if you have kids, they can make a few of them into a stick house or a picture frame….get creative.
  5. Or, if you are like me you probably have pets. I currently have 2 birds as well as 2 cats.

    The one on the left is Honey and the one on the right is Lulu. It was incredibly difficult to get them to sit still long enough for a picture…they aren’t keen on selfies ๐Ÿ˜€ My birds specifically love destroying things, they rip apart their ladders and branches with a single-mindedness that astounds me. They will tear apart popsicle sticks, cardboard, newspapers, you name it they use it to sand down their beaks. Anywho, I can always stick one of the handles in their cage and they will rip it into shreds within a few days. Then I simply take the remains and compost them. If you don’t have birds, I suppose you could always use it as a fetch stick for a smaller dog…

That’s it. My five tried and true uses for old bamboo toothbrushes. Do you have a use that I missed? If so leave it in the comments! ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “5 Things to do with that old Bamboo toothbrush

  1. Hello Candice

    Just a note to say I really loved this ๐Ÿ™‚ Such great ideas.

    I feel a fraud though because I have just switched to an electric toothbrush…which has to be recharged twice a week. Very annoying and un-ecofriendly but it is good for my teeth. For holidays I use a normal toothbrush and when the one I have finally give in I will source a bamboo replacement.

    Kind regards

    ร…sa Pamphilon

    ________________________________

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of using it as a nail brush โ€“ย never thought of that one. I usually go straight to cleaning brush. I’ve had two Brush with Bamboo toothbrushes now. The first one lasted me almost eight months before the bristles became too bent out of shape, but the second one is already missing two sections of bristles and I’ve only had it a month. Have you ever had this happen? It’s making me wary of buying another one, but they’re the only bamboo brushes I can find in my city and I’d rather not order anything online if this is just a fluke.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve noticed that it has happened to me a couple of times with that brand, usually after a few months one or two of the bristle clumps come out. The Mother’s vault brand I haven’t had long enough for it to fall apart yet, so I guess I’ll find out with time on that one. I bought both brands online because I haven’t found a local store that sells them. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am impressed by all the different things you came up with! I like to buy ecofriendly and try to reduce my waste but I havenยดt really put much effort into recycling. So thank you really much for the inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

