Minimalism: Doing what you love

Normally my posts are more tip oriented, but today I wanted to branch out a little bit. I wanted to talk about living and doing what brings you joy.

Now I’m not necessarily talking about a job, though it could apply here.

After minimizing my television time, my possessions (which led to less cleaning time), useless time roaming and trolling the internet, bored shopping trips, and random hours where I was very unproductive….I found that I have quite a bit of free-time, or should I say unstructured-time.

Which opens up the topic, what do you love to do? What do you want to fill this time with?

For me, there are quite a few answers…

I love to write

I love to argue and spar with the characters I’ve made up for my books…this is what’s happening if you ever see me talking to myself lol

I love to pet my cats and hear them purrAviary Photo_130857930535594767

I love to draw and paint

I love to share my experiences in both minimalism and zero-waste with others through blogging and Facebook groups

I love watching my plants and vegetables grow

I love going to the store and having people comment on bring my own jars or bags and how little trash I’m producing

I love sitting in the rocker on my front porch and soaking up some sun

I love the smell of books…yes, I’m weird like that 🙂WIN_20160129_124853

I love reading for fun…reading as an assignment, not so much

I love trying new fruits and veggies

I love waking up each morning knowing that I’m in control of my attitude for the day

I love singing along with the radio every time I drive somewhere even though I can’t sing

I love the smell of fresh air and the sound of running water at the park or beach1239664_10151622376846725_542846045_n (2)

 

Now you may agree with some, or none of my answers. But the point is to think about the question and come up with your own. It might be spending time with loved ones, or hiking, or jogging, or whatever else you enjoy…the point is that when you apply minimalism to not only your life, but your possessions…a whole new set of time opens up that you previously spent cleaning or shopping or taking care of your possessions. If you’ve gotten down and dirty with minimalism you now have this time….take it and do something on your list. I promise, you’ll love it.

If I hadn’t started my minimalist journey I would’ve never had the time to write a novel…and I would have never gotten it published either 🙂 I also am spending time now writing the rest of the series…

So take the time to do something you enjoy, you won’t regret it!

 

One thought on “Minimalism: Doing what you love

Leave a Reply

