Small changes, big impact :)

Hey everyone, I hope your week went well. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately….about the changes in my life and all the naysayers who pipe up with something along the lines of “One little change isn’t going to magically save the planet” or “why don’t you just use a (insert disposable product here), it won’t hurt anything. One isn’t going to make that much of a difference.”

Mainly all the people who think making small changes isn’t worth their time, because they think that one small change can’t save the planet.

I think they have the wrong perspective.

Sure, one roll of paper towels is a small thing, but so is one reusable towel that can in effect save many paper towels from being purchased and wasted.

And your one reusable towel might seem small and insignificant in the grand scheme of things, but you’re bound to have a friend or family member to your house, and when they ask if you have any paper towels and you explain that you don’t like disposables they’ll be amused and probably slightly confused by it….but the thought of your reusable towel might pop up the next time they go to buy paper towels, and the time after that. Maybe they’ll ignore it….but what if they don’t?

What if your one small change helps influence someone else to make a change?win_20170227_133514

I’ve experienced this in my own journey. I started with the small change of making my own toothpaste instead of buying tubed ones, and that change led to others. I didn’t force my beliefs on anyone, I just was living my life and my values and before I knew it I noticed others close to me following suit.

It’s always a small change. Like noticing family members stopping at the trash and then placing the item they would’ve thrown away into the recycling pile. Or seeing coworkers start bringing reusable containers for lunches.

My favorites are when people I know come up to me and start the conversation by saying “Hey Candice, you’ll be so proud of me, I’m doing/changing/buying such and such reusable thing, etc.”

So my small changes have unwittingly influenced the people around me, without me having to spout random environmental statistics or show them some horrifying video of a tortoise and a plastic straw coming out of its nose. I’m just living my life, and I blog, and happen to talk about my changes if someone asks me…but that’s about it. Nothing big. Nothing ostentatious.

Just small changes.

Then the effect of those small changes becomes cumulative because their one change might influence another person or two, and so on and so on. Before you know it there’s a whole movement of people using reusable towels instead of disposables.

Your one small change can make a difference, even if it’s just a difference in your own life. And let’s face it, all those disposables you save by using a reusable alternative ADD UP. Think of the effect you can have on the planet over the course of years with one small change.

Of course, one small change is bound to lead to another, and another…

Before you know it your whole lifestyle is different and so much better for the environment.

So don’t discount a small change, they can make a big impact.

2 thoughts on “Small changes, big impact :)

  1. I completely agree, I’ve been having the same thoughts recently! Sometimes it feels like I’m the only one trying and then it’s easy to think “what’s the point?”, So it’s great to read about a like-minded person! This post has motivated me! Thanks!

    Like

  2. I agree! Sometimes people think it’s weird but over time some do comment on a change they’ve made. I use a beautiful china tea cup at work – we have a staff around 75. Now at staff meetings there are about 10 of us using “fancy” tea cups! WIN WIN!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

